Peru on board again! Hello OBM Family!

Hello, everyone!

I’m Pierre Padilla from Lima (Peru) and my background is in Electrical Engineering. I’m a researcher and Master candidate in Biomedical Informatics for Global Health at Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia (UPCH). I support networks as Peru Coordinator in Open Biomedical Initiative (2015) and SyntechBio.

I’m also the Founder and Director of Biomakers Lab, a Peruvian biohackerspace where we promote and develop biology in a more accessible way for scientists, biohackers, amateurs or anyone which might be interested in this field. Our last project was a Manual called The Essential Biohacker’s Guide. We grouped basic information about how to build a complete Biohacking/DIY-Bio Space. The Manual can be found in Spanish, English, and Portuguese. We published a beautifully designed version and a light version. You can download any of them. We hope to launch a second version with more resources and a handling system for the links, allowing to keep them updates.

I’ve developed some 3D printed prosthetics and orthotics with Peruvian community. However, it has been difficult to get help from 3D Printing companies. That’s why I decided to start a company based on 3D printing & open source hardware in general. The Open Electronic Workshop looks for helping people with their ideas and projects. We hope to help Latin America and anyone who wants to change the world. I’m so happy to see how OBM family has grown up and yes! It’s a family for me.

I want to learn as much as possible and to find connections/collaborators to start some DIY/maker activities.

Regards,

Pierre P.

Hello @ppadilla!! That’s great to see you again in the community!! More open than ever, please join our discussions and let’s collaborate together for the next initiatives both on 3D printing and biohacking :slight_smile:

Hello, Im Pedro from Portugal